DUI Child Endangerment

Michigan DUI Child Endangerment is a serious criminal offense.

Michigan law makes it a crime to transport a child under the age of 16 while under the influence of alcohol or with any amount of a controlled substance in the driver’s system.

Essentially, the crime is nothing more than a standard drunk or drugged driving charge with the additional element of transporting a minor under 16 years old at the time of the offense. However, this additional element significantly enhances the potential penalties upon conviction.

A first offense Michigan DUI child endangerment charge is a misdemeanor. Penalties upon conviction may include, inter alia, up to $1,000 in fines, court costs, community service, permissive vehicle forfeiture and revocation of driving privileges.

The crime is also punishable by incarceration. Jail time can range from five days to one year in jail, with not less than 48 hours served consecutively.

In the event there is one prior offense within 7 years, a Michigan DUI child endangerment charge can be enhanced to a 5 year felony. The prior offense need not be a conviction for Michigan DUI child endangerment. It can be for any MCL 257.625(a) offense.

It is important to note mandatory immobilization is required if the Michigan DUI child endangerment is committed within 7 years of a prior drunk or drugged driving offense or within 10 years in the case of two or more prior convictions.

A prior zero tolerance conviction may be used as a predicate offense to child endangerment but gives rise to a different penalty scheme.

It should also be noted that Michigan DUI child endangerment may be charged where someone commits a zero tolerance offense with a person less than 16 years old occupying the vehicle. A first such offense is a 93 day misdemeanor and a second or subsequent offense is a 1 year misdemeanor.

Contact Duke Law Group 
Contact Duke Law Group
First Offense DUI Drunk Driving 
First Offense DUI Drunk Driving
michigan DUI Court process drunk driving OWI attorney lawyer 
michigan DUI Court Process
drunk driving dui owi fines fees court costs 
Drunk Driving DUI OWI Fines Fees Court Costs


If you find yourself facing such a charge, it would be in your best interest to consult with a highly experienced and skilled Michigan DUI lawyer who can advise you on the complexities you face. So, if you find yourself in that predicament, I encourage you to submit the specifics online or call Attorney Edward Earl Duke directly at 248-409-0484.

Click Here to Contact Edward Earl Duke

Our Location

180 High Oak, Suite 205

Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304

(248) 409-0484 

DUI Child Endangerment
Article Name
DUI Child Endangerment
A first offense Michigan DUI child endangerment charge is a misdemeanor. Experienced drunk driving attorney Edward Duke explains what a person charged with drunk driving child endangerment may face.
Duke Law Group